Humanity from A Distance

"Cynics sometimes insinuate that you can love 
people only if you don't know them too well; 
that a too intimate contact with the foibles and 
idiosyncrasies of men will tempt one to be a 
misanthrope. I have not found it so. I save my- 
self from cynicism by knowing individuals, and 
knowing them intimately. If I viewed humanity 
only from some distant and high perspective I 
could not save myself from misanthropy. I think 
the reason is simply that people are not as de- 
cent in their larger relationship as in their more 
intimate contacts." -Reinhold Niebuhr, Leaves From the Notebook of a Tamed Cynic
Leave a Reply

