“I Got A Home In That Rock”

“I Got A Home In That Rock” is an old negro spiritual about God sending slave-owners to Hell. For those unfamiliar with the passage of the Bible in question, this is based on Luke 16. Also, I really love the creative use of Noah’s rainbow. God said He wouldn’t punish the wicked with *water* anymore.

“I got a home in that rock, well, don’t you see?
Way between the earth and sky
I thought I heard my Savior cry”

“Well-a poor Lazarus poor as I
When he died he had a home on high
He had a home in that rock don’t you see?”

“The rich man died and lived so well
When he died he had a home in Hell
He had no home in that rock, well, don’t you see?”

“God gave Noah the rainbow sign
No more water but the fire next time
He had a home in that rock, well, don’t you see?”

“You better get a home in that rock, don’t you see?”

Leave a Reply

